Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes exemplary service and commitment to the community. Recipients are selected based on a unique contribution to the community, which creates a lasting legacy for the community. The recipients below reflects in the area indicated their love of community and dedication to making DeKalb County a healthy place for all.

Sue Ellen Owens Award

The Sue Ellen Owens Award was created to honor the founding Executive Director of Leadership DeKalb who served from 1989 to 2001. It is awarded to the person in the community who recognizes an unmet or underserved need in the community; whose initiative serves as a catalyst for change to address that need; and that change should result in something permanent and positive for the community, a lasting legacy of initiative and vision.

Sara Fountain Carpe Diem Award

The Sara Fountain Carpe Diem Award was crated to honor Sara Fountain who served as the Executive Director from 2001 to 2012. It honors someone in the DeKalb County community who has seized the opportunity to create a lasting legacy.

Click here for a complete list of past recipients.

The Best Class Ever Award

The Best Class Ever Award is a competition designed for Leadership DeKalb to recognize the Class that truly embodies what it means to be the “best class ever!” This includes – but is not limited to – graduates and members of Leadership DeKalb who are actively engaged with the organization and supportive of its mission.

Furthermore, the award is based on three areas of engagement, including:

1. Activity
2. Contributions (in-kind only)
3. Involvement

Click here for a complete list of past recipients.

Back To Top